9-1-1 service is a municipal responsibility in Québec. 27 primary emergency call centers provide service to the population in the province. Some are managed by urban agglomerations, local municipalities, intermunicipal boards of police, non profit regional organizations, a regional county municipality or a private company. Only some Indian reserves and northern villages do not offer the service to their population. If 99 % of the population of Québec has the service, however, it is less than 20 % of the territory that is served, due to the lack of wired or wireless telephone service in vast uninhabited areas.

According to the Civil Protection Act, local municipalities are responsible for ensuring that an emergency 9-1-1 call centre serves their territory. It is also their responsibility to finance the costs of these 9-1-1 call centres. The job of the emergency 9-1-1 call centres is to answer calls from persons in distress, determine the nature of the emergency and forward the calls to the appropriate emergency service (police, fire department, ambulance, etc).

The Agence municipale de financement et de développement des centres d’urgence 9-1-1 du Québec (the “Agency”) is a non profit organization designated in accordance with the Act respecting municipal taxation to collect, administer the revenues of the municipal tax for 9-1-1 service and distribute these revenues according to its own rules among local municipalities for the purposes of financing emergency 9-1-1 call centres.

The Agency must also, from the proceeds of the tax, contribute annually to the cost of the audits for certification of 9-1-1 centers by the Department of Public Safety.

Finally, it has a mandate to develop 9-1-1 emergency centers by:

  • Raising awareness, information and the study of standards of practice and quality standards for these centers;
  • Performing regulatory and technological monitoring and intervening before regulators in the interests of municipalities and public safety;
  • Funding some  activities and related research studies and development thereof, in order to improve the services offered to the population.

The Agency is governed by a board of directors comprising representatives of the Union of Municipalities of the Province of Québec, the Fédération québécoise des municipalités and the City de Montréal, in equal numbers. The Minister of Municipal Affairs and Land Occupancy designated a member of its office to take part, as an observer, to the Agency’s board of directors meetings.


Daphney Colin, president
Councillor, Borough Rvière-des-Prairies-Pointe-aux-Trembles
Chairperson of the Montréal Public Safety Commission
Ville de Montréal

Sylvie BEAUMONT, treasurer
Mayor, Ville d’Alma
Administrator, Union des municipalités du Québec

Réal TURGEON, secretary
Mayor, Municipalité de Saint-Isidore
Administrator, Fédération québécoise des municipalités

Pierre CHÂTEAUVERT, administrator
Directeur des politiques
Fédération québécoise des municipalités

Yves LÉTOURNEAU, administrator
Conseiller aux politiques
Union des municipalités du Québec

Johanne TANGUAY, administrator
Chair, Regulatory and Technology Monitoring Committee
Chef de section (SPVM)
Ville de Montréal

Representative designated by the Minister to attend meetings of the Board of directors as an observer:

Nicolas BOUCHARD, acting director
Direction de la fiscalité
Ministère des Affaires municipales et de l’Habitation


Director General